Pons Asinorum?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
User avatar
pzriddle
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 10:10 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Pons Asinorum?

Post by pzriddle » Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:42 pm

Any Pons Asinorum users out there? I'm low on both $$ and HP space and in need of some more modulation sources. A quad envelope/LFO combo in 6HP for $156 seems like a good deal. True? If you have it, how do you like it?

https://www.noiseengineering.us/shop/pons-asinorum

User avatar
Agawell
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 3:22 am

Re: Pons Asinorum?

Post by Agawell » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:05 am

do you have a modulation source already?
some stacjcables/mults?
if so mutable kinks, can derive 7 related, but different, modulations from a single source - smaller, cheaper etc

User avatar
Tumulishroomaroom
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1291
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:17 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Pons Asinorum?

Post by Tumulishroomaroom » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:16 am

I have one and I love it. I was skeptical at first, coming from Quadra I though the one knob workflow wouldn't be ideal but it's well though out and super quick/simple to use. The shapes are fixed but musical, I use all four in most of my patches. I wouldn't be without a more complex enveloppe to open VCAs for example but for anything else that only requires simple envelopes it's perfect.

Highly recommend it !

User avatar
deke
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:48 am

Re: Pons Asinorum?

Post by deke » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:46 am

I have one too! Black - how cool is that? :-) At first I wanted more envelopes and that was it, but more and more I use it for both envelopes and LFO. You can switch any of the four channels to be either an envelope or LFO - modes. All will use the same wave form (one of three you can select), but you can set the rate for each independently. You can also CV the rate of any of the four with separate inputs. It is pretty easy to understand once you get your hands on it and the lights provide great feedback as to what is going on. Bang for the buck AND space AND ease of use are high. I also have Maths, Batumi, A-140 and I use the PA all the time on almost every patch.

Why does nobody say this - You can never have enough LFOs.

User avatar
induktor
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

Re: Pons Asinorum?

Post by induktor » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:50 am

I recently picked one up and like Tumulishroomaroom, was also pleasantly surprised at how well the single knob design works. I agree that it's not ideal for opening vcas (5 volt afaik) but great for all around modulation duties. Oh, and mine is also black.

User avatar
Ray Diode
El Popo
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:34 pm
Location: Crab Nebula, AUS

Re: Pons Asinorum?

Post by Ray Diode » Fri Jan 17, 2020 4:27 am

[/quote]
Why does nobody say this - You can never have enough LFOs.
[/quote]

hellz yeah :yay:
Alphatown | Phonku Bot | Oscillator Repair Team
| Weird Fiction Records |

ckwjr
Common Wiggler
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:30 am

Re: Pons Asinorum?

Post by ckwjr » Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:18 am

Low hp count and splitting the channels between envelopes and LFOs make the whole package very useful.

User avatar
lisa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4154
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 7:00 am
Location: Lidingö

Re: Pons Asinorum?

Post by lisa » Fri Jan 17, 2020 11:21 am

It’s on my list. Seems to be a heap of functions in very few HPs. I tend to set and forget envelopes so the interface shouldn’t be any issue for me.
Icy and melodic braindance/IDM winter track. ❄️


User avatar
Tumulishroomaroom
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1291
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:17 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Pons Asinorum?

Post by Tumulishroomaroom » Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:17 pm

Even if you don't set and forget it's quite fun to play, you can go back and forth between the shortest time and the one you set if you click the encoder, and you can be quite precise with you enveloppe times.

Only downside really is the 5v output, but all NE modules are 5v.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”