New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Any music gear discussions that don't fit into one of the other forums.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
User avatar
mutierend
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:21 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by mutierend » Sat Jan 18, 2020 7:17 pm

Has anyone tried polychaining two Hydrasynths? I have the keyboard and I'm thinking about adding the desktop. What's it like? Is it seamless? Does it open up possibilities or just make a 16 voice poly? :)

User avatar
Pugilistas
Common Wiggler
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:26 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by Pugilistas » Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:32 pm

Word I've seen from folks implementing the Hydra keyboard + module is that it integrates really well. They all seem pretty happy. Me, I just want to get one (module).

User avatar
onthelees
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:41 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by onthelees » Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:54 pm

Anyone else having trouble installing the O.S. 1.3 Update? I just get "Open USB Fail" when I try to run the updater app. The Patch Manager app doesn't have any trouble seeing the Hydrasynth, and I have already sucked my custom patches into my PC so I doubt it's my USB connection. Sent a note to ASM, no response yet.

User avatar
onthelees
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:41 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by onthelees » Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:54 am

Still no response :cry:

User avatar
StillNotWorking
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by StillNotWorking » Wed Jan 22, 2020 5:57 am

I'm more in the realm of old and crunchy 12-bit when it comes to digital synths. But the ESQ style editing caught my attention. Just like to mention how utterly useful this button layout are compared to the standard symetrical style Ensoniq later changed to from VFX onwards. This layout function more intuetive, much like you grab a sliter or pot :tu:

User avatar
StillNotWorking
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by StillNotWorking » Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:39 am

onthelees wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:54 pm
Anyone else having trouble installing the O.S. 1.3 Update? I just get "Open USB Fail" when I try to run the updater app. The Patch Manager app doesn't have any trouble seeing the Hydrasynth, and I have already sucked my custom patches into my PC so I doubt it's my USB connection. Sent a note to ASM, no response yet.
My interpretation of that error message are that your computer have problem accessing the USB driver.
Try searching internet for your operating system and similar messages. It could be a security measures stopping access to files needed. Temporary storing update files in another directory might solve the problem?

Edit: Also a common failure I've seen are trying to run a program from within a compressed file. If the update comes as a compressed file like zip z7 tar and many other extentions try unpack the file before running update.

User avatar
onthelees
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 414
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:41 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: New poly synth/synth company - ASM Hydrasynth

Post by onthelees » Thu Jan 23, 2020 1:13 am

StillNotWorking wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 6:39 am
onthelees wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:54 pm
Anyone else having trouble installing the O.S. 1.3 Update? I just get "Open USB Fail" when I try to run the updater app. The Patch Manager app doesn't have any trouble seeing the Hydrasynth, and I have already sucked my custom patches into my PC so I doubt it's my USB connection. Sent a note to ASM, no response yet.
My interpretation of that error message are that your computer have problem accessing the USB driver.
Try searching internet for your operating system and similar messages. It could be a security measures stopping access to files needed. Temporary storing update files in another directory might solve the problem?

Edit: Also a common failure I've seen are trying to run a program from within a compressed file. If the update comes as a compressed file like zip z7 tar and many other extentions try unpack the file before running update.
Thanks for the suggestions. I am good to go. As usual, it's extremely helpful to

1) discover that there are actually directions for doing this.
2) following said directions.

User avatar
mome rath
a dubious cube of margarine
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 8:23 pm

Re:

Post by mome rath » Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:30 am

nolongerhuman wrote:
Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:57 pm
tehyar wrote:
Divinital wrote: I am OCD and when I had the Quantum, the right side of the screen seemed as though it barely worked so I returned it
fyi: the right side of the screen thing is most likely due to a point of confusion on how thee ui is to be interacted with. There's a youtube vid where a guy goes through all of the UI issues. Most of the time when the right side doesn't respond, it's because you aren't supposed to be touching it there. The three blocks that come up next to the knobs are intended to only be touched nearer to the inside and don't respond to touch near the outside. It's fooled a lot of peeps into thinking it's got a dead spot - myself included.
Unfortunately it’s definitely an issue. Mine has that problem and I’m now having to submit a ticket for it. It’s gotten more noticeable since I got it.

There are work arounds, touching the box and then using the knob nearest the box, but things like sliding through parameters is impossible to do even somewhat smoothly. The left side is totally fine, and completely different from the right side. On mine, the lack of sensitivity started about 1/8” from the edge and is not nearly a full inch from the edge after 7 months. I bought it new.
same, mine is in for repair right now; the "dead sector" precludes updating the OS to the beta 2.x.x version

i also noticed a bubble forming in the middle of the touch screen

:cry:
Image
soundcloud, dear friends
good trader cred
instagraM
guest wrote:
Fri Jan 03, 2020 2:45 pm
basically, as the dude put it "no walter, youre not wrong, youre just an asshole".
zoogoo wrote: your stupid

Post Reply

Return to “General Gear”