help! ADDAC207 intuitive quantizer issue (video inside)

New Interfaces for Analog Synthesizers.

Moderators: Kent, infradead, __ag

Post Reply
User avatar
hiawog
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 892
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: screwston tx

help! ADDAC207 intuitive quantizer issue (video inside)

Post by hiawog » Fri Dec 20, 2013 12:39 pm

hey guys - i'm experiencing an issue with my brand new addac207. other than this issue, it's absolutely fantastic, but i really want to solve this problem, which i think is related to the processing time of this module. here's what i could find in terms of past discussion:
clusterchord wrote:
ADDAC System wrote:Hi!
The processing time of the ADDAC207 is less 1 millisecond or 0.0001seconds.

All the Best
Addac Team
thanks, you mean it's 100 microseconds? :woah:

that's by far the shortest quantize processing delay in euro ..
see the video below: there's an audible slurring as it quantizes to different values coming from a sequencer (i've tried more than one). when it steps to a new note, the quantizer often creates a flam or doubling effect with a different note that's "on the way" to the new one. is this maybe related to a lag in processing time, or to a very fast processing time?

right now my workaround is to trigger the sequencer very slightly before - and separately from - my envelopes, which gives the quantizer time to get all the way to the correct note before the eg fires. but introducing this slight clock delay limits my flexibility (for instance, i can't use gate outs from the sequencer because they're slightly behind the main clock that's driving egs). generally, this makes makes everything more complex in terms of triggering other events.

has anybody experienced this? any ideas as to what's going on? what should i do?

[edit]"see the video below"[/edit]
Last edited by hiawog on Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:03 am, edited 2 times in total.

tiny333
SONIC WARRIOR
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:00 am

Post by tiny333 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 8:52 pm

I have two of them here atm and neither of them do this

Its very very very very very FAST

:despair:

User avatar
hiawog
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 892
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: screwston tx

Post by hiawog » Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:58 am

i'm confused too.

here's a video that demonstrates what i described above.

thanks in advance for your help!

[video][/video]

tiny333
SONIC WARRIOR
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:00 am

Post by tiny333 » Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:44 am

If i where u would send that video to addac ..

User avatar
__ag
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 5:17 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by __ag » Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:35 am

Hello all,

Interesting issue, i can't exactly understand why it's happening, it can be several things:
1. the bld eg is analog and faster than any digital based module
2. the combination of pressure points and quantizer both being digital adds delay. It can be pressure points that creates the lag (please remove the quantizer and check if it happens with pressure points alone) and the other way around too, remove the pressure points

also what's the time delay you're adding? you mention 45-48 but what timescale is this? milliseconds? so is it 3 millis delayed?

Let me know!

all the very best
andre

tiny333
SONIC WARRIOR
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:00 am

Post by tiny333 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:04 am

Andre i use my 207 with pp into a 701 and dont get this

User avatar
hiawog
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 892
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: screwston tx

Post by hiawog » Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:57 pm

__ag wrote:Hello all,

Interesting issue, i can't exactly understand why it's happening, it can be several things:
1. the bld eg is analog and faster than any digital based module
2. the combination of pressure points and quantizer both being digital adds delay. It can be pressure points that creates the lag (please remove the quantizer and check if it happens with pressure points alone) and the other way around too, remove the pressure points

also what's the time delay you're adding? you mention 45-48 but what timescale is this? milliseconds? so is it 3 millis delayed?

Let me know!

all the very best
andre
hey andre,
thanks so much for your reply - i've pmed you with specific details.

User avatar
hiawog
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 892
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: screwston tx

Post by hiawog » Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:09 am

tiny333 wrote:Andre i use my 207 with pp into a 701 and dont get this
thanks - this is helpful. i'm beginning to suspect that my model might just be a lemon. hopefully we get it worked out soon.

MatMillion
Common Wiggler
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 2:55 pm

Post by MatMillion » Fri May 02, 2014 7:43 am

I have the same issue with my 207. channel one is also very "glitchy". did you get a replacement?

thanks!

User avatar
Hirsbro
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:40 am
Location: Tisvildeleje Denmark

Post by Hirsbro » Wed May 21, 2014 4:47 pm

Feed the gate in the same signal you are feeding your eg that worked for me :tu:

User avatar
Hirsbro
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:40 am
Location: Tisvildeleje Denmark

Post by Hirsbro » Fri May 23, 2014 10:08 am

Edit :tu:

Post Reply

Return to “ADDAC System”