MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Yamaha CS15 with Broken Key Assigner? Just Make a New One!
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next [all]
Author Yamaha CS15 with Broken Key Assigner? Just Make a New One!
oldcrow
Alas my CS15's original key assigner won't work. It is one of those Yamaha YM24800 custom chips that is part key encoder logic, part analog switches.
Rather than try to find the OEM part, these days it is just easier to make an equivalent replacement circuit. (This is my rationale behind all those CS80 IG-series chip circuits I've been doing for the past 15 years.) SlayerBadger!

The YM part encoded 37 keys as six groups of six plus the low C. It also made octave and note DACs out of resistor strings hung off the analog switch pins. The thing was clocked by a 10KHz free-running oscillator and it would output a gate that was +5V (key up) and -10V (key down).

The obvious choice for replacing all of this is of course some kind of microcontroller. While I have spent the last 30 years doing embedded system designs, mostly for industrial PID controllers, all of my code tends to be written in assembly for Zilog Z8s and Microchip PICs. I have a sort of familiarity with C, but it wasn't my embedded language of choice because compiled code with 2.5 microsecond instruction cycles (an 8MHz Z8 from say 1990) was slow.

Well, these days it seems it is all Arduino this, Arduino that. Since Radio Shack actually has the things I got the cheap one that uses the Atmel ATMEGA328P and decided to see what I could come up with. Which is this thing: