MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

What's the best sounding VCA out there in 5U
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> 5U Format Modules Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next [all]
Author What's the best sounding VCA out there in 5U
sunsinger
I have to invest in several VCA modules in the near future. I've been looking at the some from Modcan, MOTM & STG. I already have two of the Q108s from DotCom.

The DotCom seem have a bit of a slow response to me. So what is the best built and best sounding VCA out there? sad neutral smile grin
zerosum
I haven't noticed any noise with the dotcom Q108 VCA, but maybe because I make too much noise already before hitting the VCA hihi seriously, i just don't get it

I have no experience with the STG Signal Amplifiers, but that is what I would recommend to you for your system because you need a LOT MORE VCA's in your setup and the STG offerings would get you the most VCA's for less money.
http://stgsoundlabs.com/products/signal_amplifiers_mu.htm

You can get 6 STG VCA's(2 signal amp modules) for what 4 of the modcan's(the quad VCA module) would cost.

I know its silly for me to recommend something I haven't heard, but I am sure others will chime in..
consumed
both the motm and modcan VCAS are top notch. you will be happy with either.
emdot_ambient
What about the Oakley triple VCA? http://www.oakleysound.co.uk/vca.htm

Any opinions on that?
essex sound lab
I can't speak to the Modcan or the MOTM VCAs, but I found the sound of STG's signal amplifier to be so wonderful that I emailed him raving about it once I finally powered it up.

Thanks for reminding me to buy more! hihi
sunsinger
essex sound lab wrote: