unbalanced synth output to balanced patchbay ?

Discuss everything related to production, recording, composition, etc.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
VOLTA
Common Wiggler
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 8:43 pm
Location: Middle Earth

unbalanced synth output to balanced patchbay ?

Post by VOLTA » Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:00 pm

Unbalanced synth output to balanced patchbay ?
Trs or ts cable. Do i need a DI box ?

User avatar
tony d
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1024
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:02 pm
Location: boulder,co.

Post by tony d » Sun Apr 12, 2015 10:05 pm

Not sure about your patchbay but on my mixer which only has balanced inputs i had to make cables like these mentioned in this article http://www.rane.com/note110.html
It mentions that an isolation transformer is a better way of dealing with it but for my application this wasn't practical.

loydb
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1091
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Austin, USA

Post by loydb » Sun Apr 12, 2015 10:33 pm

15U 168hp Zebrawood case Build Log [FINISHED]: https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewt ... p?t=134540
MFOS Ultimate Expand-o-tron Build Log: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/view ... 797#308797
MFOS Mini-Controller Build Log [FINISHED!]: http://www.electro-music.com/forum/view ... hp?t=42968

Ashi
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 431
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:15 am
Location: Baden, CH

Post by Ashi » Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:57 am

I use TS cables to go from my balanced patchbay into any unbalanced gear, patchcables are balanced as well. So far it works fine..but my mixer inputs accept both balanced & unbalanced and I guess it's not the best way to do it..but transformers are expensive ;)

User avatar
hiawog
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 892
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:59 pm
Location: screwston tx

Post by hiawog » Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:37 am

When connecting balanced and unbalanced gear, my understanding is that you should use an unbalanced (TS) cable. Make sure everything's grounded.

Alternately, you can use a line-level shifter like those made by Ebtech. Maybe overkill but personally I'm a fan.

User avatar
DJMaytag
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 745
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:59 am
Location: Madison, Wiscompton
Contact:

Post by DJMaytag » Sat Dec 01, 2018 11:42 pm

hiawog wrote:lAlternately, you can use a line-level shifter like those made by Ebtech. Maybe overkill but personally I'm a fan.
Looking at these as an option for where I’m going to have to run a 30-35 foot snake from one spot where I have gear that’s prone to hum (Boutiques) over short distances, much less anything long.

Anyone else using these? I’m interested in one of the 8-channel rack units with 1/4” jacks.

Post Reply

Return to “Production Techniques”