MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Sidrax Organ as first synth
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Ciat-Lonbarde  
Author Sidrax Organ as first synth
DaveMatthew'sHand
Would it be a bad idea to get a Sidrax Organ as a first synth?? I have some stuff (keyboard/kaosspad/sp404) just no synthesizers, so im a synth noob. Would it be smarter to get something more traditional? I know their is probably not a yes or no answer here, but im trying to get some wisdom before I drop my money. I'm mostly just looking to play with sound and make pretty drones and melodies in my bedroom room. I'm selling my 404 because I really didn't enjoy using it. Now I mostly jsut loop stuff with my keyboad/kaoss pad. Here is a short loop I made doing that https://soundcloud.com/makeshift-frequencies/memory-choke but yeah should I get something more str8 forward/cheaper maybe as my first purchase??? If I get the Sidrax Organ and feel like I wasted my money, would it be easy to sell/trade used or no? I'm on minimum wage here lol >.< The organ looks like it can be pretty and noisy + its made out of wood so I want it.
ClausF
Why not if you like it. But I would start with a Plumbutter or Cocoquantus, because these have endles possibilities. Sidrax is limited compared to these two, but also a wonderful instrument.
Yes, you can sell it, watch the threads here. The rule is easy: if it stays over months, it was too expensive.
wednesdayayay
The sidrax and the coco are a match made in heaven

Why you ask

Because the sidrax can cover so much aural ground while the coco allows for some really interesting looping possibilities

But since you currently have your looping covered and are looking for a synth the Sid seems like a better choice