MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

has anyone built a hex zone?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Fractional Rack Modules  
Author has anyone built a hex zone?
johnnymad
i'll be ordering a hex zone in a couple of days. i can't decide whether to get it assembled or to build it myself. the kit costs $82 less, which could go towards more modules. i've built two blacet kits and 10 or so other diy modules, so i have some building experience.

i'd like some insight from anyone who's actually built one. the blacet site says it's the hardest module to build. i just don't want to spend that much money and screw it up.
tragedybysyntax
Doesnt look that bad to me man.... prolly just have to make sure you align all the pcb's nicely by tacking them before final install. I'm going for a kit myself
Kwote
there's plenty of tips on blacet's tech corner page:

http://www.blacet.com/tech.html

allignment is the biggest issue on this one. you've built plenty and done well so i think you're up for this.

when i get my 2nd i'll go for the kit. i always intended on the kit qualified or not to build it but i got lucky and found one from Noisebug for only 20 bucks more than the kit so of course i had to swoop it.
johnnymad
yeah. i'm leaning towards the kit now. that extra money would almost cover another power supply.
Kwote
johnnymad wrote:
yeah. i'm leaning towards the kit now. that extra money would almost cover another power supply.

it could probably fully cover one if you were able to get it used wink
johnnymad
i've been trying to find a couple racks and a ps500 used, but no success. very frustrating
Kwote
johnnymad wrote:
i've been trying to find a couple racks and a ps500 used, but no success. very frustrating