MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

[PROJECT] Music Thing Simple EQ
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next [all]
Author [PROJECT] Music Thing Simple EQ
Monobass
Simple EQ – Learn SMD soldering by building two channels of the kind of tone controls you’d find on an old hifi.
No voltage control, but just enough range to push sounds into distortion.
Works well in a feedback loop.

This video is an excerpt of the longer interview with Tom Whitwell featured on Sonic State HERE.

SMD soldering is not recommended for complete beginners! Make sure your soldering iron has a good fine tip before attempting this build. A flux pen is also highly recommended.

http://www.thonk.co.uk/shop/mtm-eq/

Full kits will be available later in the year. There is a revision in the works which moves from 0805 parts to 1206 to make it even more beginner friendly.

Build docs, BOM etc – http://thonk.co.uk/documents/eq/
horstronic
Nice!
If it doesn't have voltage control, what does the tilt knob and the two jacks on the bottom do?
gbiz
It has 2 EQ circuits.
The upper 2 jacks are the input & output for the EQ controlled by the treble & bass knobs.
The lower 2 jacks are the input & output for the tilt EQ. With the tilt knob fully counter clockwise it boosts bass & cuts treble. Fully clockwise it cuts bass & boosts treble. (Think of the frequency response as being a horizontal line when the pot is centered. With the pot fully CW the response line is tilted down at the low frequencies, & up at the high frequencies. With it fully CCW, the response line is tilted up at the bass end & down at the treble end).
horstronic
gbiz wrote:
It has 2 EQ circuits.
The upper 2 jacks are the input & output for the EQ controlled by the treble & bass knobs.