MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Dark, ambient, industrial techno: keeping it dark?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> General Gear Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Dark, ambient, industrial techno: keeping it dark?
asii
I've been producing music for many years and I absolutely love dark industrial techno.

however, even with all my practice, I am not always able to keep a dark tone in my music?

Examples:

Example 1

example 2

I could post a million more videos but I think you all will get the point...

I tend to be able to sort of get there, but I always tend to introduce sounds that are too bright as happy. Pitching down samples doesn't always seem to work, either...

is there something specific I'm missing here when it comes to maintaining the tone of a dark industrial techno sound?

I find it difficult to maintain and I have more than enough told to do so. Maybe the fact that I love a certain type of sound doesn't necessarily mean I can recreate it? I refuse to give in to that psychology.. I need to figure this out

I just want cold, black and white sounds....

anyway... story of my life.. I SHOULD know how to accomplish this.. some artists just make it seem so easy

thanks in advance.. struggling a bit here lately
noisejockey
I guess my question for you is higher level: Are you trying to sound like someone else, or yourself? I don't presume to know, but what you're describing seems like it could be one of two situations: You're naturally led creatively to something other than the music you like listening to (i.e, your voice is different than your ears), or your voice is the same as your ear and you're just trying to make things sync up (i.e., it's a matter of technique).