MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Electric Guitar without Amp? (plugging straight into mixer)
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX  
Author Electric Guitar without Amp? (plugging straight into mixer)
sloth713
A few months ago I inherited an electric guitar (ESP Viper-100) and practice amp (Orange Crush) and quickly became uninspired trying to learn it because I didn't care for the sound. The guitar sounded good unplugged but amped up it just sounded not that great to me. I have no experience with electric guitars and the only other experience I have with string instruments is that I play the Ukulele.

Yesterday on a whim I got it out plugged it into my WMD Geiger Counter module to mess around and all the sudden the guitar sounded awesome. I quickly found myself turning off all the bit crushing, sample rate reducing, and wave table effects and only playing with the preamp. This go me experimenting around with overdriving a chain of moogerfoogers and going straight into a mixer and it sounded great. Even the clean signal through just the mixer sounded better to me than the clean signal through the Orange Crush.

So here is my question is can i just ditch amps and cabinets all together and just use distortion pedals into a mixer? Is this a viable option or am I just ignorant? (soundwise I want the guitar to have a modern rock sound, specifically 90's-00's punk and metal).
Sinamsis