MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Patterning app - best drum machine out there
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Patterning app - best drum machine out there
knifey
As a drummer, I've always been fascinated by drum machines, musically and aesthetically (i love the look of old analog drum machines). But I've always been annoyed by the non-flexibility of hardware drum machines in terms of setting the number of steps per sound, or being able to shift rhythms on the fly, like a human drum ensemble might be able to do. I know more recent drum machines have become more flexible and versatile, but they still can't get out of default 16-pad design, 4/4-and-related meter programming.

So, Patterning has been a total dream for me. It's everything I've wanted a drum machine to be able to do. I'm interested to know other people's take on it, and on the design of drum machines in general. Do you think the demand from the music genres that emerged alongside synths and samplers and drum machines (techno, house, etc) shaped the design of drum machines, or vice versa? Are there larger, culture-specific musical forces at work in the evolution of the drum machine?

Oh - user interfaces fascinate me too. I'm curious of what people think about multi-touch interfaces (ipad) alongside hardware buttonsn and knobs in relation to using drum machines. I'm pretty happy with the multi-touch world that Patterning exists in.
mt3
As a drummer myself, anything to do with drum programming/sequencing/etc. has been a hellish disaster. I'm considering midi drums that use mesh heads to try and recapture that "feel" and physical "je ne sais quoi" from playing drums.
You've piqued my curiosity with Patterning and I'll check it out.
listentoaheartbeat