MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Notches in Omni
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Wiard  
Author Notches in Omni
chamomileshark
I'm sure I'm showing my ignorance here but I've been doing some simple demos for the omni filter.

I've always liked a number of the middle settings - ie when you get two lights coming up. I always thought that when you have both LP and BP or both BP and HP then you were simply in an intermediate state.

Doing some sweeps and then looking on a scope I'm seeing a notch appear - I know that when you put filters of different types in series or parallel you then create new types but I thought this was a simple cross fade.
jdkee
Any video of the scope? I'd be interested in seeing the effect.
chamomileshark
hi, sorry I didn't see your post.

I'm not very technical - particularly outside of the synth world but I'm expecting to have a bit more time and I'll see what I can do.
slow_riot
I believe the core topology is State Variable which has already multiple outputs available. I remember reading that the Mode morphing is not achieved through basic crossfading between them. I'm not sure where I got the impression from, but I think it is done by dithering, using a high frequency signal (higher than can be perceived) to crossfade between the different filter modes, such that the ear perceives both modes simultaneously. These overlapping modes might be the reason for the notch?
Dr. Sketch-n-Etch
Blending LP and HP from a state variable filter to get a notch is an old and well known technique. It was employed on the Oberheim SEM. I just added the feature to my handmade 2164-based SVF design (it's dead easy to do).
addendum