MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Replicating a rotary switch using switch IC's - doable?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Replicating a rotary switch using switch IC's - doable?
pre55ure
So I am currently working on a module that needs a 4 pole 3 way switch with 2 decks. So altogether that = 24 total connections. It's basically the equivalent 8 SPDT switches all switched by one master switch. I can't find anything on mouser (or anywhere) that is either in stock, cost's less than $50, and or is not gigantic. This is my first time working with a rotary switch anywhere near this complex, so it's certainly possible that I don't know where to look or that I don't fully understand the terminology.

So I'm now looking into secondary options - Thinking of using something like 2 x TS3A5018RSVR which are 4 x SPDT switches on 1 IC. The plan is to just send a logic high signal from a toggle switch and flip all 8 switches on the two IC's at once.
Anyone have experience doing this? Good Idea? Bad idea? Anything obvious I'm missing or not understanding here?
Thanks!
Synthiq
The main electrical differences with electronic switches is a higher, and not constant, switch resistance and the signal level is most often limited to the supply voltage to the switch. If this is a problem or not depends on the application.

The TS3A5018RSVR can handle 3.6V but if you need a little more voltage a CD4053 can be used up to 18V. Digikey has hundreds of quad switches that can handle +/-15V or more.
Synthiq
Another option is to use 4 DPDT relays. They are more expensive than IC switches but are electrically more like a rotary switch but still much less expensive. However, they can use a lot of coil current unless you go for latching relays.
pre55ure