MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Where to buy building tools (not parts)?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Where to buy building tools (not parts)?
poorness
I searched but couldn't find anything. Sorry if this has been asked.

I'm just getting into DIY. I did a workshop at Knobcon. I've done minor electronics in the past so I have solving iron, wick, flux, screwdrivers, multimeter, etc, but I realized I need some things like small diameter deep well sockets and spanner wrenches.

Anybody have a good resource for these kinds of tools?

BTW, I checked SynthCube and StewMac... couldn't seem to find the right stuff.
keninverse
You won't need a spanner. I use them I'm on my car though. You also don't really need deep sockets. I use plain sockets without a ratchet or handle and 99% of the time the pot shafts will stick out the 3/8" coupling. Torquing things down with a wrench is unnecessary so just use your fingers with just the socket.
poorness
That's what I ended up doing for the most part cuz they're wasn't enough tools to go around. I wasn't specifically inquiring about those two tools. There were others (clamp pcb holder thingy, magnifier glasses, tiny wire strippers, etc). I'm just looking for a place that sells all this stuff. It's too specialized for hardware stores. Part of the problem is I don't know what these things are called so I don't know how to search for them... but there has to be a few shops like this right?
StudentsOfTheFuture
I did Amazon for basics like a pcb holder, silicone mat, etc. If it would work for Arduino stuff, they've got plenty of options.

I've been looking for some kind of socket tool and it never occurred to me to grab something non-specialized... but DUH!