MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

HELP 1VOCT Analog Keyboard Controller w/ Arduino
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author HELP 1VOCT Analog Keyboard Controller w/ Arduino
Kevin Mitchell
Hello! For a few weeks now I've been picking at a controller project of mine. I've been tinkering with modular synth stuff and could really use a CV controller. I've snagged a Fatar synth keyboard and worked out mapping the keys with an arduino nano board and was using a PWM pin as CV output to experiment. But I'm using a 5 octave keyboard (61 keys) and the <5v on the arduino will not be enough for scaling notes C1 to C6 and probably not a clean enough signal to use as CV.

I believe I need a decent DAC to get the job done. The problem here is I'm very new to synths, haven't written original code in years and would not know what DAC device would be ideal for this project. If the fine folks of this forum have any pointers to lend I would very much appreciate it! This week I would like to finish up the circuit with modulation and pitch wheels so I can box everything up!

I aim to design a polyphonic controller with 3 CV outputs. Just stumped on the digital to analog part for a good CV signal!
widdly
I would suggest the MCP4812 dac from Microchip. It uses an SPI interface and you should have no trouble finding example code and circuits using it. You will need an amplifier after it to get enough voltage to cover the keyboard range.

Datasheet..
https://people.ece.cornell.edu/land/courses/ece4760/labs/f2017/lab2_mc p4822.pdf

Code...
https://github.com/SweBarre/MCP48x2/blob/master/examples/MCP48x2_examp le1/MCP48x2_example1.ino
Kevin Mitchell