MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Easy DIY euro module for total noob?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Easy DIY euro module for total noob?
uniquepersonno2
Hi there!
I apologize if there's a bunch of these topics already. I'm completely new to DIY. I (mostly) know how to solder, know a little bit about components, and I'd like to start the process of learning to assemble Euro modules. I learn best by doing, and I'm okay with wasting some money and making some mistakes at first.
Are there any modules that are fun once assembled but still good for a complete beginner to start out with? Any recommendations are welcome!
keyofsalvador
If you plan to use a Mac with your modular, then a CVpal is a great beginner module. It's available on Thonk for cheap. Also check out Ai Synthesis, both for beginner builds and general info and tutorials.
GilgaFrank
+1 for CVPal, would also recommend the Frequency Central System X VCF if you're in the market for a filter. The System X VCO is a more difficult build as it has a temperature compensation daughterboard.
mskala
keyofsalvador wrote:
If you plan to use a Mac with your modular, then a CVpal is a great beginner module.

They work well with Linux, too. The issue is that people have had problems using them with Windows in particular.
uniquepersonno2
GilgaFrank wrote:
+1 for CVPal, would also recommend the Frequency Central System X VCF if you're in the market for a filter. The System X VCO is a more difficult build as it has a temperature compensation daughterboard.

Thanks for the suggestion! That filter looks great! I realized though that their Raging Bull module had been on my wanted list for a while, do you know about the difficulty of that module?
uniquepersonno2
keyofsalvador wrote: