MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Parasitic circuits?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Parasitic circuits?
hirnlego
Hi!

I had a few IC laying around and was wondering if and how they could be driven just using the rectified output of a VCO (or a self-oscillating filter, or an EG).
So I tried and came up with 3/4 really simple circuits (one is a sequencer), that I think are neither active nor passive, more parasitic, as they draw juice from others. As expected their behaviour is a bit erratic and the output is always kind of distorted and fuzzy, but in the end I like the result and every one has its character.

I think that, even if they suck from others (in my case eurorack modules), these circuits are not harmful, but as I'm a novice with a novice's knowledge of electronic I have a few novice's questions:

- is correct the assumption that they're parasitic?
- are they safe in terms of damaging the modules they draw from?
- what should I take care of, if I should, for protecting them?
- are there any resources online for this kind of projects?

If interested here is a video of Aphid, one of these parasites:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uncnxj1nJq4

Thanks!
mskala
This is the same thing as what most people in the modular-synth world call "passive," but since that word really means something else, "parasitic" is probably a better term.

There should be no danger of damaging the module that's supplying the power - what you're doing is no worse than short-circuiting the output and modules need to be protected against that already.
hirnlego
Thanks, I thought so.