MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

How will Tempcos non-availabilty affect us?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> 5U Format Modules Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author How will Tempcos non-availabilty affect us?
Rex Coil 7
I've never built a VCO. Let's get that out there right away. While I've no experience with building an oscillator I fully understand the use of a heater to keep the VCO transistors at a continuous temperature to create pitch stability.

Ok, fine.

Lately, I've read that Tempcos will no longer be produced beginning January 2018. From what it seems, this is a hard line end of production announcement.

That said, how will this affect analogue synth design ... and how will it affect long term upkeep, and even warranty issues?

Let's not pretend that all of our favorite oscillator manufacturers have endless bulk stock of Tempcos that will be available to keep our beloved analogue synths in a state of operation forever.

Is there a chance the templates (or "sheets" or whatever is used to produce transistors, ICs, and resistors) may be bought up and a new manufacturer will produce them (kinda like the way Intersol sold off the CA3080 masks to Rochester Electronics to produce "reissue" ICs)?

Am I concerned over nothing?

Is it time to revisit analogue oscillator designs and start looking at the next phase .... perhaps a digital "core" with everything else being analogue (or somethin' somethin' ...)? That said, why hasn't there been an IC developed that would replace the standard triangle core design, or a digital chip designed that would replace the venerable core?

Thanks!
JohnLRice
Rex Coil 7 wrote:
Lately, I've read that Tempcos will no longer be produced beginning January 2018. From what it seems, this is a hard line end of production announcement.