FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 

Mastering for acousmatic / ambient / drone
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques  
Author Mastering for acousmatic / ambient / drone
There are many tutorials, rules-of-thumb, and general lore about mastering melodic, vocal, and more "traditional" techno music.

What, if anything, do you find yourself doing differently to master your experimental, out-there, more sound-design-y material?

Do you approach compression differently? Do you think about the desired dynamic range differently? And so forth.
there are not really any rules of thumb for mastering and mastering, more or less, is "genre-blind"... it doesn't really matter what genre of music is being mastered, it only matters what that specific song needs and what the artist's vision and requests for the work are.

i make my living mastering, largely, ambient and experimental music. there are times when an ambient song needs more compression than a techno song, there are times when an ambient song needs a bit more saturation...

it's really important to treat each track for WHAT IT NEEDS.. not based on any myths or stereotypes.

the only one common request from, say, a techno producer vs. ambient.. is that they often want the techno pushed louder, and the ambient artist is less concerned about overall level.

on a slightly different note... one thing i've noticed over the years is how people talk about specific gear and its sound. and this can largely change on the type of music going through that gear.