MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Passive balanced out for eurorack case
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Passive balanced out for eurorack case
uniquepersonno2
Hi there!

I'm very very new to electronics/DIY so I apologize for the long, probably basic question.
Basically, I want to install a passive stereo balanced output into my eurorack case. Optimally I'd have a small 2 or 3 hp module with two inputs, which would carry the output of the synth to two TRS jacks on the back of my case.

I've been looking at how to best go about this and found this article about building a passive DI, but I have no idea if that would work for what I want to do. The kit they make also comes in a bulky box that doesn't really suit my case as I want it mounted internally with the jacks/switches mounted on the euro panel and on the back of my case.

Could I simply adapt the circuit they demonstrate to fit in my case? My worry here is length of cables, optimally I'd have the input panel in front and the outputs in the back, which is about 24".
What do I need to worry about in terms of power supply interference?
Can I simply mount the circuit in my case or do I need to put it in something to shield it?
How do I ground it? I'm using a Trogotronic power supply which I don't think grounds to the case at all.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
slow_riot
This is a good question, it's something that hasn't really been properly addressed by the eurorack market yet but which a DIY solution can achieve very good performance.