FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 

Low Latency FX/Design audio software for jamming?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Low Latency FX/Design audio software for jamming?
Hi MuffWigglers,

First post here... Not a musician here, total wannabe, but I've spent 10 years hanging out at music studios, long time lurker. Last 2 years I've been commuting to work with a Novation Circuit, Pocket Operators, and a friends Op1. My day job is a computer programer for visuals. But now I've got the bug bad and need to make my next musical move..

I do jam with other real musicians, as the weird sound synth guy trying to work out what key I'm in. Basically I love self-indulgent non-serious noodling. Not looking for production/performance, just in-sync band FX fun.

Thinking of getting a 2nd hand KMIX (low latency mixer) with multi-track usb send/return to my slightly old osx laptop or iPad for FX. Design some FX presets, and use a midi controller when playing.

Looking for something that with live audio: can do complex long reverbs & delays, granular like scratch/loop filters of inputs, side-chain compression/limiting/eq, modulation & LFO's etc.. Bonus if events could be triggered / randomised programatically.

Previously I have learnt several timeline based video editing packages, flow graph 2d/3d video programming software, Python, Audacity and a bit of Ableton live for making mixtapes.

What software would you bad cats suggest? hihi
astrodislocate wrote:

Searching for that led me to scratch the surface of other interesting programable vst/dsp live software. but now i'm confused by my lack of knowledge and amount of choice: (only 32bit / under-development?) (not osx) liveProfessior (not osx)
Mainstage 3
Reaktor (too steep audio tech knowledge curve & no vst's)
Max/MSP (too steep audio tech knowledge curve)