MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

output buffer question
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author output buffer question
lasesentaysiete
if I use this buffer circuit by Dr. Ken Stone on an output (i.e. coming from the pcb) can I omit the 100k resistor?

Synthiq
The 100kohm resistor is only used to pull to input ground when the input is not connected to anything so it is well defined. If the input is always connected, the 100kohm resistor can be eliminated. Not sure you need the 1kohm resistor in this case either as long as the input voltage is within the +/-15V supply voltages.
lasesentaysiete
Synthiq
thumbs up
cygmu
I'm no electrical engineer, so this may be nonsense, but don't you need to ensure that there is a DC path for the input bias current?

For example, if the previous stage that is connected to the input is capacitively coupled, then without the 100k resistor, that input bias current can only come through the capacitor, which it won't want to do.

I suppose the effect will be small / slow with a FET op amp like a TL07x but it would exist.

I think.

But if the previous stage has a DC path to feed the input then I think you are fine to omit the resistor.
mskala
You do need to ensure a DC path for the input bias current. The bias current on a TL071 is very small, but it's still possible for it to be a problem. Most outputs you might patch into will provide that DC path, but you're right that not all do, and people have had problems from something similar before. See for instance https://www.muffwiggler.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=187044