MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Doepfer DIY kit#1 strange (PSU?) issue
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules  
Author Doepfer DIY kit#1 strange (PSU?) issue
THE96
Hello everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this but I suppose I have to start somewhere since I haven't been able to find an answer to this anywhere. Just to inform you I'm very new to this all, do not have very much experience with synth's or working with electronics however am very eager to learn.

A while ago I started building my modular system, I acquired all of my modules and 2 Doepfer DIY kit #1's second hand. (the kits come with the PSU with external trafo) I put the two kits in a case I built for them and for quite some time everything worked perfectly. However since yesterday there appears to be a problem that I really do not know how to fix.

The system suddenly turned off. I assumed the fuse had blown and when I checked today it turned out I was correct. However when I replaced the fuse the system powered on briefly and then powered off again, so I took out all the modules and started putting them back one by one. What happened however is the following.

The system doesn't even work with none of the modules plugged in anymore, which leads me to believe the PSU broke. So, since I have a second empty system ready to go I tried powering this one, it worked without anything in it. However the moment I plugged a module in the fuse blew again. After replacing the fuse and disconnecting the module it turned out that now this system too does not work anymore (i.e. it only turns on for a second after replacing the fuse, and then powers down again), even without any modules plugged in.