MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Ableton push and modular, latency problems
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Ableton push and modular, latency problems
eddock
Hi! I'm new in modular synth and in muffwiggler. I'm (potentially seriously, i just don't get it ) in trouble with latency problems. Just a simple question. I'm planning what to buy to write sequences and playing directly with ableton push 2 on my (future) modular synth. In my mind the midi chain will be: push - > macbook - > M-Audio MidiSport 1x1 - > befaco midi thing. Then the audio in a focusrite scarlett 2i2 and then again in ableton live. I'm going to have latency if I play a note on the push? I've just got the push, the MacBook and the scarlett of all these things that I've named, but I want to save me from the cost of the expert sleepers ES-8. There are other expert sleepers modules that can help me? I need at least 4 cv's out (to control 4 voice modules with 1v/oct). Wich is the best way? Wich the cheaper?
Dragonaut
An ES-3 is a good bet and maybe cheaper as long as your audio card supports ADAT.
dbcoder
There will always be latency in ableton when monitoring.

I recommend turning off monitoring on your audio tracks in ableton and use direct monitoring from your focusrite scarlett 2i2.

https://support.focusrite.com/hc/en-gb/articles/207546305-What-is-dire ct-monitoring-

If direct monitoring is not gonna work for you (like you NEED to hear effects on the track) then https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/articles/209072289-Latency-and-Delay -Compensation-overview
Sleipnir
eddock wrote:
Hi! I'm new in modular synth and in muffwiggler. I'm (potentially seriously, i just don't get it ) in trouble with latency problems.