FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 

Sequencer as Envelope Generator
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion  
Author Sequencer as Envelope Generator

If a sequencer outputs stepped voltages in time-controlled manner, can these "stepped" voltages be interpolated in any way to sort of force the sequencer to be an envelope generator? I've never used a sequencer before so I'm interested in getting one and just curious if it could offer this kind of dual functionality.

Simply use a glide/slew. Some sequencers have this built-in. Or get a sequencer that has note ties. Offcourse the sequencers also needs a start input and a way to stop, usually there'll be a stop input or on some there's the option to set any step to stop...
Yep. There are even things like the Buchla 248 or the Encore Electronics Universal Even Generator.
Sweet. Can the ER-101 do this?
If upper sequencer has multiple channels of output, you could even use a slew with voltage control to get smooth or stepped parts of the envelope.

I use a Buchla 250e as a multistage envelope all the time. Luckily, it has per step interpolation or stepped outputs.

I've also used an Oberkorn to do this, some sequencers (when fast enough) could be used as a oscillator of sorts.
ear ear
rishin wrote:

Yes, look at the Orthogonal Devices website where you will find the ER-101 manual.
ear ear wrote:
rishin wrote:

Yes, look at the Orthogonal Devices website where you will find the ER-101 manual.

d'oh! thumbs up w00t
As others have said, the Buchla Multiple Arbitrary Function Generator is a great example of this. As it it's simplified cousin, the Verbos Voltage Multistage.
Thanks for the responses everyone. I'm deciding between the Er-101 and Control Forge at this point.
You might also be interested in the Verbos Voltage Multistage:
Modular Grid-Voltage Multistage