MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

All diy ambient starter rack advice
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author All diy ambient starter rack advice
Pheeb
Hi, new to post but have been lurking for a while and have seen starter rack questions and diy questions but haven't found anything combined.

I'm looking to build my first eurorack, and since I'm a student with lots of time, limited funds, have some background in electronics and a love of soldering, it would suit me best to build my rack from DIY modules.

I'm looking for advice on the first few modules to get. I want to start off with a few full kits to get my bearing, then move on to pcb only builds. Ultimately I'd like to get confident enough to build SMD panels like the Mutable stuff.

So basically I'm wondering if there are maybe 3 modules, available as kits that can get me started with ambient soundscapes, along the lines of Lightbath, annannie and Emily Sprague?

At the moment I'm looking at Erica Synths Midi-CV so I can use my Korg Electribe as sequencer and clock, and a Beafco Rampage as it can do quite a bit in one module.
Any recommendation on something to add to that? Anyone making ambient soundscapes with a limited number of diy modules?
I mostly just really want to get soldering and making sounds to begin with!!

Sorry I know this is annoying beginner stuff but there really isn't much info around on all diy starter racks! Especially for ambient, as opposed to regular subtractive synth voices.
adam
you could have a reverb, then either just a filter or vcf & vco in addition to the rampage, the even vco is one that gets good reports if you like befaco
forestcaver