MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Do I need a VCA right away?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Do I need a VCA right away?
littelspde
I am new to hardware modular and slowly beginning to piece together a rig, I am buying a case and some second-hand modules off a friend (power, 2xLFO and a super sloth) but my current remaining budget is tight.

I intend to buy a Noise Reap Berumda VCO as my first oscillator but this will about hit budget limit for me. Now, from my reading I understand the importance and use of VCA's but I will not be able to get one for a couple of weeks - but my question is am I able to patch the modulated (by LFO and sloth) VCO straight out into my mixer (its an old junkshop one, not worried if i damage it) in order to start generating audio from the start - or should I wait it out and get VCO/VCA at the same time?

From what I've read, the modular out is going to be a lot stronger than the usual line input into the mixer, but I am yet to find someone saying that it definitely can/cant be done.
Thanks
e-grad
littelspde wrote:
From what I've read, the modular out is going to be a lot stronger than the usual line input into the mixer, but I am yet to find someone saying that it definitely can/cant be done.
Thanks

You don't need the VCA as an output module btn VCO and mixer but to modulate the amplitude. W/out a VCA you'll have a nonestop unattenuated audio output which is somewhat boring. Well you can use a fader to vary the amplitude.

A modular output is hot. Pls be careful and turn the fader and volume down when checking your set up. To say the obvious make sure you use a line in.
e-grad