MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

LED Indicator for GATE voltage drop
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author LED Indicator for GATE voltage drop
ESSY
Hey All,

Probably a newb question, but I am building a GATE out via an extra MCP6002 op-amp, and wanted to add an indication LED when the GATE goes high.

How do I add an LED indicator when without affecting the GATE out voltage? Is this another op-amp use case?
chloeprice
I am not really an electronics professional myself, but I think an opamp voltage follower like this could work:

NANO-Jorge
Yes, if you have an opamp you could do a buffer for the gate signal, then you don't have to worry about voltage drop.
latigid on
From what I've read, the LED is better placed inside the feedback loop.

https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/technical-articles/the-basics-behind- constant-current-led-drive-circuitry/
ESSY
thanks for the feedback everyone we're not worthy . I'm learning stuff every day on here.

chloeprice circuit was really close but I ended up (through trial and error) putting the resistor in the feedback loop and everything was awesome - meaning there was no voltage drop on the GATE signal.

Synthiq
The resistor has no function in this configuration and the current in the LED can't be adjusted without a resistor in series and will now only be limited by the internal current limit in the TL074 output stage.
av500
ESSY wrote:
Hey All,

Probably a newb question, but I am building a GATE out via an extra MCP6002 op-amp, and wanted to add an indication LED when the GATE goes high.

How do I add an LED indicator when without affecting the GATE out voltage? Is this another op-amp use case?