MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

LM565 VCO ?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author LM565 VCO ?
Yekuku
Hi wigglers,
I was given a few LM565 Phase Locked Loop ICs by a friend, and I thought that it would be interesting if its VCO frequency could be exponentially controlled.
I searched the internet but i could not find any examples of using the 565 as a VCO in synths.
Did anybody try experimenting with it ? Any pros or cons ?

I have already built Thomas Henry 4046 VCO, and I am hopping that i can get similar results from the 565. ( lol! high hopes !)
I am a complete noob in engineering /designing circuits , I am just starting out and experimenting in order to learn a few new things. So far I have studied Thomas Henry designs via Scott Stites site , and I own a big THANK YOU to Mr Henry and Mr Stites for sharing their wisdom and helping all of us.
I have breadboarded the LM565 and with minimal components , I have managed to linearly control the frequency from 25Hz to 12kHz and get a triangle waveform from pin 9 (timing capacitor pin).
One problem i have is that in low frequencies (<100Hz), the triangle wave looks like a shark fin, but as I increase the frequency the symmetry of the triangle wave is getting normal. I am wondering if this issue could be solved...
I am looking at Mr. Henry's classic exponential converter and thinking of connecting to pin 8 (timing resistor pin) , do you think that i will have any luck controlling the VCO exponentially?

Any ideas/ help / guidance would be deeply appreciated smile
dot matrix madness
I guess the most obvious way is to check if the 565 can be controlled in the same way as in the 4046 in TH's design, which you mentioned. Which means first comparing the data sheets/pin outs of both chips.
Yekuku