MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

switching noise when powering microcomputer ?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author switching noise when powering microcomputer ?
thetechnobear
hi

Im very new at creating DIY modules, and have a small issue...

Im powering a Beaglebone Black directly from the 5v line on the modulars ribbon connector - and im finding im getting noise (esp as the microprocessor starts up, but then turns into a high pitched whine) from other modules outputs.

(this happens with just the BBB connected, ie. no connections to audio/cv IO)

Im assuming this is something to do with the processor load, so switching, that then is being passed down the power lines?

is there a simple solution for this?
preferably with some simple schematics, given im a beginner at this smile

thanks for any help/pointers, as Im really not sure where to look for a solution.

Cheers
Mark
you can try splicing in some ferrite beads or inductors on the power and ground lines to the beaglebone. is it all modules, or just ones that use the 5V power as well?
thetechnobear
guest wrote:
you can try splicing in some ferrite beads or inductors on the power and ground lines to the beaglebone. is it all modules, or just ones that use the 5V power as well?

thank you.

its not on Eurorack, but an AE modular, which is all 5v, and yeah its all modules connected to the same ribbon with that 5v..

Im connecting the 5v directly into the gpio, so using 22awg wire to connect.

is there some kind of component I can add, as ive no idea what size ferrite bead to use (id have to order something)

------
note: