MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

uZeus mounted to a jack plate?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author uZeus mounted to a jack plate?
JimKeen
Hey everyone. I'm a noob here and have ordered some starter modules along with a uZeus with flying bus. I'm also building a case from scratch and would like to get your opinion on mounting the uZeus to a jack plate on the side of the case, rather than on rails. I figure a jack plate (especially if I cut some vents into it and elsewhere around the case) would satisfy Tiptop's recommendation to not mount it to wood or other flammables.

I may remove the front panel of the uZeus and cut the equivalent holes in the jack plate so the power jack and leds are directly in the jack plate itself.

Can anyone think of a reason this wouldn't work?

Thanks.
jimboburgess
It'd be good to recess the switch so it wouldn't be sticking out awkwardly of the side of the case.

If you repanel it you could use thicker metal to act as a heat sink satisfying the recs of the power supply.
Rex Coil 7
JimKeen wrote:
Hey everyone. I'm a noob here and have ordered some starter modules along with a uZeus with flying bus. I'm also building a case from scratch and would like to get your opinion on mounting the uZeus to a jack plate on the side of the case, rather than on rails. I figure a jack plate (especially if I cut some vents into it and elsewhere around the case) would satisfy Tiptop's recommendation to not mount it to wood or other flammables.

I may remove the front panel of the uZeus and cut the equivalent holes in the jack plate so the power jack and leds are directly in the jack plate itself.

Can anyone think of a reason this wouldn't work?

Thanks.
How large of a cabinet are you making?