MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Building Look Mum No Computers 3340 Simple VCO
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Building Look Mum No Computers 3340 Simple VCO
zarar
Hi!

I find Sam very inspiring and thought I'd give the CEM3340 simple VCO build a try as I had most of the stuff laying around.

After a couple of hours of soldering where I checked all the resistors with a multimeter before placing and checking the power connectors to ensure there's no shorts i figured I'd give it a try using a powersupply from a Dreadbox Hades DIY i had around.

Plugged in some headphones in the Square output jack and plugged the power in... nothing, just a very very slight static hum.

As I'm quite new to the DIY scene, I've been trying to troubleshoot the circuit, checking connections from the IC pins to power etc, measuring up the total resistance here and there.

My question, how would you go about troubleshooting this circuit? Anyone else that has built it?

Also, what's the possibility of that i've fried the CEM3340 chip? No funny smells or smoke has been present. I had to push quite hard to fit it in the socket though.

Here's a link to the build instructions:

https://www.lookmumnocomputer.com/projects/#/cem-3340-diy-simple/

And a big shoutout to Sam for an inspiring channel!
CLee
I would have to check the data sheet but it’s very likely that you can’t drive headphones from the Square Wave output. The schematic buffers the Tri out so attach your phones there. Depending on their impeadance you may not get much of a signal there either, but you could at least confirm it’s alive. And you won’t fry an expensive chip.