MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Massive CPU load on Reaktor ensemble?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Software  
Author Massive CPU load on Reaktor ensemble?
AW198
I've been playing around with Reaktor, trying to make my own synth, and I've made a basic one (1 oscillator based on harmonics, 1 basic waveforms oscillator, noise, a filter, envelopes/LFOs, etc).

For some reason the CPU load is really high - almost 40% for me when I use this in Ableton. Meanwhile, 'professional' Reaktor creations like NI's Razor stay around 2% load despite being infinitely more complex than my synth.

I know my ensemble isn't perfectly optimised because I'm just learning the logic of making a synth, but surely I'm missing something?

http://www.dropbox.com/s/fdh5mp3qn0lbv1t/Harmonic%20Synth.ens?dl=0
^Here's the ensemble link, and I'm working in Reaktor 5 if that helps.
SunSpots
So I have this exact same problem. My synth SHOULD NOT be eating the CPU so much. I debug and I know exactly what is eating the CPU, but at the same time it SHOULDN'T. Is there a way to complie an ensemble so it's efficient?
AW198
SunSpots wrote:
So I have this exact same problem. My synth SHOULD NOT be eating the CPU so much. I debug and I know exactly what is eating the CPU, but at the same time it SHOULDN'T. Is there a way to complie an ensemble so it's efficient?

What's eating the CPU in your ensemble? I don't know how to debug so I can't figure out what the problem is with mine either - just that it's not any individual section/macro.
andybizarre
For a quick fix, have a look at your instrument`s voice settings. Reaktor allocates all voices at once, so if your synth is intended to be monophonic, set number of voices to 1 and save a lot of CPU load.