MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

MOTM, MU, I'm confused
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author MOTM, MU, I'm confused
l3v3l6
I'm new to this stuff, so pardon my noobishness. What's the more popular format in the large module styles, MOTM or MU (5U?). The reason I'm asking is that I'm working on a PCB where I want to follow the same form factor that Synthensizer.com and MOTM uses but I'm stuck on which power connector style to use. The dotcom connector uses a 6 pin MTA with +5 and they claim to be an industry standard. But, looking at the MOTM boards I'm seeing here, 4 pin connectors are the choice, with no +5. To further add to the confusion MFOS is 5U and appears to have 3 pin connectors.

Is there a standard for the location of module power connectors, top, bottom, left, right?
paterursus
Dotcom/MU is by far the more common format right now. MOTM is a DIY-heavy format, and it's almost entirely in that guise that it survives. As you've probably figured out, they're the same height, but MOTM has a different minimum width unit than Dotcom. I can't speak to MOTM - my 5U modules are all Dotcom - but I have power connectors at the bottom of the boards, in the middle, and at the top. There doesn't really seem to be a standard there.
If you check out this sticky thread in the 5U forum there's a lot of good information on the power connectors. As you'll see in that thread, you can build adapters for the differing formats, and there are people who have both in their systems. A number of modules actually have headers for both. If you're picking one and want to go with the more common format, go with DotCom.

EDIT:
Here's the thread on making the format adapters.
cornutt