MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Portable recording studio outside
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques  
Author Portable recording studio outside
matthewjuran
Outside it’s possible to find spaces without any nearby vertical surfaces, so I was thinking it could make an ideal studio for microphone recording.

Powering the instruments and speakers with a generator seems problematic since it adds an engine sound to the area. I’m not very experienced with batteries, and while I could predict the power time of my car battery I’m curious about any advice or experiences here.

I assume that if gas generator noise is a problem then batteries are the only way, is there an ideal kind of battery for a synth and speaker load? I’d be very happy if that worked for a few hours while charging my laptop and smartphone too. My current condenser microphone can be powered by the laptop battery.

I’m not far into microphones but maybe a directional microphone would work to negate the generator, so do you have advice about carryable generators or specific microphones?

A thought is to have everything in the car trunk and be able to setup and record with high quality in interesting places within twenty minutes after parking.
Fabong
I recall seeing a video featuring what I think was a Rode NT5, which was recording a piano with a drumkit in the same room. The mic was highly directional so even with the drumkit playing, only the piano was picked up and on playback you'd swear it was the only thing in the room! So maybe this is your answer indeed.
mousegarden