MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Patching a Strymon Magneto into a Moog Grandmother
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Eurorack Modules  
Author Patching a Strymon Magneto into a Moog Grandmother
black_label
Hi all- please bear with me as I’m new to modular but not new to synthesis.

I’m trying to patch a Strymon Magneto into my Moog Grandmother and looking for advice on the best way to do it. If I patch <eurorack out> on GM into the <L input> on Magneto and then <L out> to my speaker, I get only low level sound - I’m guessing I’d need an external VCA, right?

If I try to patch it before GM’s spring reverb (which is what I’d like to do) by going <filter out> to Magneto and then back to the <VCA input> The delay only triggers as long as the envelope is triggering.

So, what’s he best way to patch it before the spring reverb and so that it rings out like a regular echo?

Thanks for your help!
batch
I don’t have a GM but I do have a Magneto.

On quick peruse of GM manual and specifically the signal flow diagram, the Eurorack out sounds like right out to use, so question would be how you have the Magneto set up? It has a dry level, a recording level, and a wet level. Do you them set right?

You don’t need an external VCA. VCAs are really Voltage Controller Attenuators, not Amplifiers (yes I know some do, but in general they don’t)
LTodd
A couple of different ways to approach this. First of all, look at your gain staging when using the euro out to Magneto L in. There should be more than enough gain coming out of the Magneto to drive a mixer channel or powered speaker.

If you go out of the filter to the Magneto and back to the VCA, try using drone mode on the GM. That will keep the VCA open and allow the echo to continue, but may not be the effect you're looking for overall.