MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Plugging synths into Mic input of Soundcraft Signature 12
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Production Techniques  
Author Plugging synths into Mic input of Soundcraft Signature 12
chamomileshark
hi, I've been struggling a getting a decent level out of some of my synths - particularly the OB-6 module (but also some of the others).

I'm wondering if I'm careful and keep the volume levels on the synths low if I can plug them into the Mic inputs and use my Soundcraft Signature 12 pre-amps do the job of getting a decent signal in.

I'm not very technical so the specs don't mean alot to me. From the Soundcraft manual it says

"Mic Input: +12.5dBu max
- Mic Input: 1.2kΩ
- Hi-Z Input: 968kΩ"
nostalghia
chamomileshark wrote:
hi, I've been struggling a getting a decent level out of some of my synths - particularly the OB-6 module (but also some of the others).

I'm wondering if I'm careful and keep the volume levels on the synths low if I can plug them into the Mic inputs and use my Soundcraft Signature 12 pre-amps do the job of getting a decent signal in.

I'm not very technical so the specs don't mean alot to me. From the Soundcraft manual it says

"Mic Input: +12.5dBu max
- Mic Input: 1.2kΩ
- Hi-Z Input: 968kΩ"

Sure, just use a direct box (aka "DI"). These are specifically made to let you plug a keyboard, bass, guitar, etc. into a mic input.
Matches impedance correctly, has unbalanced 1/4" input jack, balanced XLR output jack.

Basic low cost ($53 USD)but decent quality example (had a bunch of these in a studio I worked in in the 80s): Whirlwind IMP 2
Better quality, stereo in/out, more $ ($300 USD) example (what I would buy today for a nice synth like the OB6): Radial Engineering JDI Stereo Passive DI