MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Elka Synthex (CEM3320 filter core)
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author Elka Synthex (CEM3320 filter core)
MuffLuff
Hello,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I guess it also helps to say what level I'm at, I'm an amateur with some experience building a few successful circuits. I've made a CEM3340 VCO pretty much half of TH's Maximus, left out sub octave and squarewave, I've made a few CGS modules and have adapted a couple of the designs, nothing inspiring, but has built my confidence in EaglePCB.

I've been perusing the electric druids site: (https://electricdruid.net/cem3320-filter-designs/) to help inspire the next investigation, and I decided to pick one of the most complex designs the 'Elka - Synthex' multimode filter!

I've got the schematic to as far as I can, but I have doubts on some elements...

In particular the wiring of the pots in the reference schematic and the wring of the switches. Could anyone have have a look at the schematic and see if the VR's and switches make sense to them*? Only the net A connects after the switches and BCD are lone nets, I would have assumed they would be routed to ground/0V instead?

The other thing the electric druid post mentions is the control voltage mixer and components to allow for inverse filter env.
I'm guessing the CV mixer would just be a summing opamp mixer? But what would the components to allow for inverted filter envelope look like? I'm a bit lost on that one.

Any help would be amazing.

*Some shorthand VR symbols confuse me as to their wiring
Silesius
One fellow wiggler already made a version of the synthex filter, and he/she shared schematics, gerbers, etc... I guess you will find useful information there:
Eurorack Synthex filter
MuffLuff
Silesius wrote: