MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

What microcontroller plaform would suit this prototype
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author What microcontroller plaform would suit this prototype
0x80
Hi all,

I am a programmer with very limited experience with embedded systems (only Arduino really). I recently came up with an idea for a eurorack module which I would like to prototype. I'm hoping that someone can tell me what platform / development board would be a good start.

These are the specs I'm going for. For starters the minimum version is enough. If things go well I would eventually go towards the extended specs.

Hardware minimum:

2 gate / trig inputs (for clock and run/gate signals)
8 gate / trig outputs
8 DC-coupled 12-bit outputs (14 or 16-bit would be a plus)
USB host port
USB device port.
Ability to remember settings / load last preset on startup

Hardware extended version:

2 to 4 DC-coupled 12-bit inputs (14 or 16 bit would be a plus)
A micro SD card slot for storing data.
Something like 4-10MB RAM to record voltages at the inputs and play back from recordings.

CPU:

In the minimum version algorithms generate 1 clock or basic LFO (tri/square/saw) per output, so 8 in total. I don't expect much in terms of DSP processing.

In the extended version, the inputs need to stream to the outputs with some minimal processing in real-time with low latency. The sample rate doesn't need to be very high. The module is focussed on CV, not audio.

Dev tools:

I would be comfortable working with C++, or C if necessary. I am also interested in using more modern languages like Rust but only if it seems suitable for this type of application.
UltraViolet