MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

The last modular synth case/system I'm EVER going to build?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> 5U Format Modules  
Author The last modular synth case/system I'm EVER going to build?
JohnLRice
meh lol Do I need MOAR modular synths? hmmm..... seriously, i just don't get it NO! angry But, I do kinda like putting them together. Time to stop making 'em and do something with 'em! (I think I've been saying that for 5 years now? oops ) Anyways, I thought I'd post about the current last one since I tried a couple things with the power supply that I hadn't tried before.

Ever since I built my DotCom 22 portable a couple years ago I have wished that I had somehow mounted the power supplies in a way that would reduce the vibration trandfered to the case from the transformers, since the hum is pretty noticeable. I haven't wanted to tear that one apart yet to try to improve it but when building this new case I decided to try it and mounted the supply support rails to the case on rubber grommets and also used rubber stand-offs to mount the supply to the support rails. I hope this will reduces the noise a bit . . .we'll see.

I also made a small aluminum guard/shield to cover the AC inputs to the transformer and used pop rivets to mount the AC inlet and other items to the back of the case. And I didn't chop down this case like I've done several times in the past since I kept running into analog modules that wouldn't fit in a shallow case and I decided to put a big linear supply in it instead of using a switching supply again like I have in pretty much all of my more portable cases.