Stompbox for modules

A place for the string slingers, pedal freaks and amp snobs in our midst.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord, sduck

Post Reply
User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Stompbox for modules

Post by Kwote » Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:28 pm

i was just messin with my guitar through various modules and realized it'd be nice to have a stomp for the cv's so i could engage and disengage each module's effect.

is there a generic multi stomp out there for this type of thing or should i readdress this in the DIY section?
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
felix
Loves the manuals!
Posts: 3865
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:05 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Post by felix » Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:53 pm

Sort of, basically sounds like you want a simple footswitch to break the patch connection. You could do this with any "true bypass" design that you can find (they are all passive, no components other than jacks and switches) and simply don't wire up one half of the switch. When it's switched "in" you have your CVs, when it's switched "out", it's as if you've unhooked the cables since you have in effect broken the connection.
dress yourself for the public. you now must exit your home and acquire a dental mirror and lubrication!
i recommend a hat, or a helmet. if a helmet, ensure that it is both convincing and unbiased. -citizen mori
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/78959
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/225002
https://jimdrones.bandcamp.com

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:58 pm

felix wrote:Sort of, basically sounds like you want a simple footswitch to break the patch connection. You could do this with any "true bypass" design that you can find (they are all passive, no components other than jacks and switches) and simply don't wire up one half of the switch. When it's switched "in" you have your CVs, when it's switched "out", it's as if you've unhooked the cables since you have in effect broken the connection.
that's exactly it. i want to house like 8 to 10 stomp switches in a row in one box.

not trying to be lazy but do you have any links to one of these designs?
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:45 pm

For just a few more wires and 8 to 10 more jacks you can make it a simple A/B switcher so you can switch between two patch cable routings (if all three jacks are connected) or break the connection (if one of the "output" jacks is unconnected). So with a single stomp you could, say, route the LFO either to filter or VCA or whatever depending on switch position.

Think of it in groups of three jacks and one DPDT stomp switch, and multiply by the amount of switches you want. There are no connections between the individual groups. For every one of those groups:

1) Wire one of the jacks (the "common" / "input" jack) to the center poles of the DPDT switch.
2) The switch controls which poles the center ones are connected to, the top or bottom row
3) Wire one of the "output" jacks to the top row and another to bottom row - just remember that the tip and sleeve are connected on the same side of the switch for all three jacks

Here's a quick "schematic", O is a pole in the DPDT footswitch and --- is wire:

connector 2 sleeve --- O O --- connector 2 tip
connector 1 sleeve --- O O --- connector 1 tip
connector 3 sleeve --- O O --- connector 3 tip

It's that simple. If there's nothing connected to either 2 or 3, setting the switch to that position means it breaks the connection. If you don't think you'll ever need the A/B, just leave jack 2 or 3 out for every switch.

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:49 pm

If it wasn't already clear from that one, here's something I found with quick Google: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/attachmen ... 1209764691 ... Just put as many of those in one box as you want channels, and leave one of the side jacks out if you just need to make or break a connection.

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11612
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:25 am

The expensive but 'proper' option:

Image
http://www.voodoolab.com/gcx.htm

Teamed up with the 1st version of this, is how I roll:

Image
http://www.voodoolab.com/gcontrolpro.htm


Cheaper, yet still cool.



http://www.voodoolab.com/switcher.htm


Image

The Voodoo Labs products use gold-plated nitrogen sealed relays. I've had my GCX rack switcher for.... geez, I dunno 15 years? And it still works flawlessly and switches silently.

The GCX (rack unit) can be chained if you need more than 8 loops & will respond to MIDI program change from anything. With the correct MIDI cable, it will even power the footswitch unit.

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:55 am

very much appreciated flts.

@ Kent that Voodoo Pedal Switcher seems cool http://www.guitarcenter.com/Voodoo-Lab- ... 1380144.gc

but how can i be sure it'll send the right amount of voltage. have you ran it with your blacet modules?
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Mon Jan 05, 2009 3:09 am


User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11612
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:18 am

Kwote wrote: @ Kent that Voodoo Pedal Switcher seems cool http://www.guitarcenter.com/Voodoo-Lab- ... 1380144.gc

but how can i be sure it'll send the right amount of voltage. have you ran it with your blacet modules?
Perhaps me no understand good. Me thinked that you want like this:

http://www.analogman.com/switchbox/index.htm


but MOAAR!!!! non?


Like so, no? Image

Please to be letting know if wrong.

My solution eez more like all audio signal go through and modules to be switched in and outzee of signal pathways.

Is right, no?

OKay. Bye now. K?

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:07 pm

seems like it i just don't know what can of voltage would reduce the effect. maybe i'm just being lame but i'm thinking it would need a specific voltage amount to actually disengage the CV's that are effecting my guitar signal.
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:08 pm

that looks okay but the layout isn't doing it for me. i want all the switches to be parallel.
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:46 pm

kwote, could you re-explain carefully what it is that you want to do? i'm getting kind of confused with the "i'm thinking it would need a specific voltage amount" part.

as i understood it was, what felix described: you need a stomp switch that either makes or breaks a connection made by patch cables. so you don't need any extra voltages or anything, just so that when you stomp on a switch it connects an output to an input in your modular, and when you stomp it again it disconnects them (or connects the output to another input). for example, you want to disconnect the guitar signal from a filter and let it go directly to a vca and vice versa, or you want to connect/disconnect a lfo from filter cv in with a footswitch. or whatever, you get the idea.

if that's what you are looking for, you don't need to worry about any voltage scaling or generation or whatever in the stomp box itself. you'll just need something that connects and disconnects things in the modular audio / cv paths. easy way to do it is to wire some footswitches and jacks the way i described. a more "advanced" way is to use something that uses relay switching, like what kent posted. if you do it the "easy" way you'll also need some longer cables that you wire from the modular to the stomp switch and back again, if you use the gcx system kent posted you can keep all the connections in a rack and use the stomp switcher to control the rack unit -> shorter cables.

edit: or if you just want to switch complete modules in and out of the signal path, you can wire a bypass switcher like what kent described later... so basically in that case audio comes in and goes thru a series of switches, and if the stompswitch is on the audio gets routed to an effect and back to the next switch and if the switch is off, it just gets routed straight to the next one.

User avatar
plord
Wacky for Wiard Wiggler
Posts: 1778
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:52 am
Location: Charlotte, VT

Post by plord » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:44 am

Ok, wait, wait, what? The believe the correct answer for those of us with The Modular Aaffliction is: What do you mean, footswitch? We're talking about processing your guitar through your modular, so OF COURSE you want to have VOLTAGE CONTROL of any routing or switching ! :sb: Then you can switch the effects in and out with any CV pedal, or the Moog thing, or your 311 controller and JAGS, or from the Noise Ring, or even some DIY multi button footswitch contraption that, apparently, you'll have to invent :)

Here is one DIY version of a CV switch: http://www.zen22142.zen.co.uk/Circuits/ ... vcs555.htm Or if you want the platinum coated version, you can build up the MOTM-700 http://www.synthtech.com/motm700.html behind a Frac panel; this is what I'm doing quad Wiard style. Paul sells the PCB and rare chips, Scott at Bridechamber sells the rest of the parts.

Or, of no interest to you personally, Doepfer has a VC switch. and unless I'm crazy and it is hiding under a different name/primary function, CGS does NOT have a simple switch. But jeez, don't make yourself tapdance, let the modular make all those decisions for you!

This has been: The Voltage Police. We'll let you all off with a warning this time :)

flts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2984
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:01 am

Post by flts » Tue Jan 06, 2009 6:47 am

:lol: epic win!

User avatar
neandrewthal
full clout y'all
Posts: 3682
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:30 pm
Location: Spending warm summer days indoors writing frightening verse to a buck-toothed girl in Luxembourg

Post by neandrewthal » Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:55 am

plord wrote:I'm crazy and it is hiding under a different name/primary function, CGS does NOT have a simple switch.
Perhaps both? :razz:

Analog switch matrix Simply 4 simple SPST switches with a common pre-switch mix input and pos-switch mix input. Of course, you don't need to build everything you don't need.

I dig this one. Very simple when you consider that 80% of the circuit is for the reversing attenuators which you can leave off if you dont want em (but I do, because then you have a very flexible comparator on the input and 2-step sequencer on the output)
Initiate the sequence, create catastrophe.

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Tue Jan 06, 2009 1:34 pm

i'm just looking for manual breaking of the patch connections via footswitch. sorry for confusing the situation as i was confused :)
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11612
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:16 pm

Then you be wantin' the kind o' shit I mentioned.

User avatar
plord
Wacky for Wiard Wiggler
Posts: 1778
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:52 am
Location: Charlotte, VT

Post by plord » Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:31 pm

Ah, right, forgot about the Tellun. Cheaper than the MOTM for sure and no super rare parts.

User avatar
Kwote
Voltage Controlled Crackpot
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: SF Bay Area

Post by Kwote » Wed Jan 07, 2009 1:22 pm

neandrewthal wrote:
plord wrote:I'm crazy and it is hiding under a different name/primary function, CGS does NOT have a simple switch.
Perhaps both? :razz:

Analog switch matrix Simply 4 simple SPST switches with a common pre-switch mix input and pos-switch mix input. Of course, you don't need to build everything you don't need.

I dig this one. Very simple when you consider that 80% of the circuit is for the reversing attenuators which you can leave off if you dont want em (but I do, because then you have a very flexible comparator on the input and 2-step sequencer on the output)
those look nice. i'll add them to my want to buy list. :)
Self expression is as essential as breathing
kwotemusic.com
my other sites

22tape
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:59 pm
Location: Yer mammy's dusty vibraphone

Post by 22tape » Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:42 pm

howabout this?

http://4mspedals.com/bendmatrix.php

i just sent Dan at 4ms some questions to see if i can spec it out bit. i'm gonna get one...should be too much fun!

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:16 pm

22tape wrote:howabout this?

http://4mspedals.com/bendmatrix.php

i just sent Dan at 4ms some questions to see if i can spec it out bit. i'm gonna get one...should be too much fun!
Nice, in concept at least. I find them to be absolutely ENORMOUS machines for what they do, though... amirite?

22tape
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:59 pm
Location: Yer mammy's dusty vibraphone

Post by 22tape » Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:28 pm

wetterberg wrote:
22tape wrote:howabout this?

http://4mspedals.com/bendmatrix.php

i just sent Dan at 4ms some questions to see if i can spec it out bit. i'm gonna get one...should be too much fun!
Nice, in concept at least. I find them to be absolutely ENORMOUS machines for what they do, though... amirite?
i don't think they're THAT big. dimensions are:

2mm Aluminum panel 12" x 10" on aluminum box (2" tall)....

that's not bad at all, imo

User avatar
wetterberg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7673
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.

Post by wetterberg » Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:31 pm

wow, I reckon you're right. Hmm. Must have totally misunderstood all those pictures, hehe.

Definitely get the one with the trigger inputs if you decide to go for it, though.

22tape
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:59 pm
Location: Yer mammy's dusty vibraphone

Post by 22tape » Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:33 pm

i hear ya....they look alot bigger on the youtube vids. i think its the camera angles....

but yeh, not bad at all....

mmmm, trigger inputs :sb:

Post Reply

Return to “Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX”