MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

digital vs analog modulation sources
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Modular Synth General Discussion Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next [all]
Author digital vs analog modulation sources
bbow73
I read some smack about euro being infiltrated by too many digital modules, meh. But it got me thinking

So analog signal flow aside (obvi),
does having digital ENVs or LFOs make a tonal difference?
would it be cheaper to produce a did-quad LFO vs analog?
Are their features that could be introduced to a modulator that wouldn't be possible or too expensive with an analog module?
monroe
I'm an amateur but here's my educated guess. You want an analog signal out of your ENV or LFO to use with other modules, so if it's digital then you'd need some digital-to-analog conversion, and if there is any VC input then you'd need some analog-to-digital, which would probably end up being more complicated and expensive than just doing an all-analog circuit. ADSR's and LFO's are not that complicated for analog circuits, as I understand.
CursedFrogurt
You can totally hear the difference between digital and analog modulators. Take and analog VCO, wiggle it by a digital LFO, and all of a sudden it just sounds like numbers. I don't like the idea of maths modulating my analog gear. It's probably cheaper, but you might as well run your synthesizer with Excel. Go wank off to some spreadsheets you pervert.

thumbs up
baltimoroder
CursedFrogurt wrote:
I don't like the idea of maths modulating my analog gear.

Go figure... I love my Maths.
frozenkore
CursedFrogurt wrote: