MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

PSU circuitry basic electronics
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Oakley Sound Systems  
Author PSU circuitry basic electronics
jack multiple
I am looking for some more indepth info on how the psu board works. specifically, the two power rails.

i know about the main purpose of it, regulating,rectifing etc for a reliable power supply. its just the rails i dont understand.

Why do some audio projects use/need a +ve an -ve rail. what are the benefits of it.

What exactly is the difference between the 2. an explanation of what this kind of -ve voltage actually is.

yes i'm a beginner, using my project to learn concepts aswell as building a synth.
ericD13
I don't know if my naïve answer will help, I'm a noob myself.

It seems to me that you can't produce a signal that can vary between positive and begative peeks if you don't feed the circuit with both voltages.

Usually you work with +/-5v (up to +/-10V) outputs so you need at least these.

It's the necessity (sometimes) of 5V that I don't really understand.
jack multiple
have actually found my first reference to this in a book. finally.

not very indepth but a start to answering my questions.

quote ;" most high-fidelity amplifiers use a complimentary design, referred to as a Class AB.

Complimentary amplifiers split the audio waveform into its negative and positive halves and amplify each section separately.
Then they combine the two at the output, rebuilding the waveform.

The technique allows for excellent efficiency because almost no power is dissipated when the waveform is near the zero voltage level.

Only when the input signal gets too big does the amplifier draw a lot of power, keeping power usage proportional to output." end quote.
Synthbuilder
jack multiple wrote: