MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

MPF102 vs BF245
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY  
Author MPF102 vs BF245
fonik
any reason why a BF245 could not replace a MPF102?
i mean other than pinout.

i find the MPF102 a hard to get part here, the BF245 would be much cheaper and is widely available... however, some circuits still use the MPF102 as switch (i.e. in a VCO core).

i roughly compared the datasheets and i don't know if the differences are that significant. any insight? oppinions? experiences?
J3RK
Unfortunately I've never used a BF245 before, so I don't have much input to give on that. I use the MPF102 for quite a few projects, but didn't realize it was getting harder to find. I used to just order them from Mouser. (I haven't looked lately though.) I've seen the 2n3819 used in its place, but as an example, I think the MPF102 works a little better than the 2n3819 in the fader of the 258 clone.

Edit: just looked on Mouser, and they actually don't sell the MPF102 anymore. woah
fonik
i have a single let over 2n3819 here as well, alas, i need a bunch of MPF102 for a certain project NOW. i think i will use sockes and try the BF245.
nevertheless, i am still interested what the critical specifications are actually.
vozs
BF245 is made in A,B,C types therefore the devil sits in the details!
Soooooo, how much did you pay for the knobs? 8_)
Sebo
For VCO cores the On Resistance is the critical parameter, it have to be low (50 ohms or less if I recall right).
ElectroSteam
The BF245C seems to be a close equivalent for the MPF102, save for the pinout as you mention.