Roland RE-150

A place for the string slingers, pedal freaks and amp snobs in our midst.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord, sduck

Post Reply
User avatar
johnnymad
turbo wiggler
Posts: 1107
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:55 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Roland RE-150

Post by johnnymad » Mon Sep 14, 2009 12:06 am

i really haven't heard too much about this model. it seems like most people only talk about the 201. is it any good? i MAY have found one on craigslist but i'd like some opinions first. also, how hard is it to replace the tape? the unit i'm looking at doesn't have any tape.

drewtoothpaste
.
Posts: 2101
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:36 am
Location: Columbus, OH

Post by drewtoothpaste » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:24 am

The 101 and 150 are okay and do what you'd expect (tape echo.)

Unless you're getting that for way cheap you might want to get a replacement RT-1L tape unit and bring it with you, and check out the echo before you pay the guy - if the tape's pulled out, the motor or heads or other mechanical parts might be screwed up and that's a much harder fix (as far as I'm concerned) than the electronics.

drewtoothpaste
.
Posts: 2101
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:36 am
Location: Columbus, OH

Post by drewtoothpaste » Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:24 am

Getting new tape / installing it isn't too hard btw.

User avatar
johnnymad
turbo wiggler
Posts: 1107
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:55 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Post by johnnymad » Mon Sep 14, 2009 10:18 am

thanks. i replied to an ad on craigslist that's about a week old. it might not even be available anymore. i'll get the tape unit you suggested if the deal actually happens.

Post Reply

Return to “Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX”