MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

VC-ADSR & Journeyman build - possible part substitutions
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Oakley Sound Systems  
Author VC-ADSR & Journeyman build - possible part substitutions
lucid
Hi
first of all thanks to Tony for doing great think when offering Oakley as DIY. thumbs up
Also his PCB are really good quality to work with.
I am quite new to DIY, but after few build I am enjoying this hobby a lot. And I would like to learn some more tricks and hints from this great community.

I just have some questions about possible substitution of some parts.
Mainly I am talking about single turn trimmers
One reason is that I overlooked that these are single turn trimmers so I didnt buy them, because I thought that multiturn will fit in. d'oh!
I just have in my small stock only single turn with value 47k and there is requested 10k for Journey and 100k and 20k for ADSR.
Is there any chance to use mine 47k instead of some of these specified in BOM? Or better to order exactly what is specified?

Than next question is about zener diode 6.2V - here I have 5.1V or 7.5V available. How critical is this part here with stated value? Could be replaced by one of these I have available?
There are no specialized shops in my town and order just these few parts will be quite expensive with shipping, so I need to wait to fill in my list of needed parts with some more parts.

I know that I am digging into design of modules, but I think that answering these specific questions will do no harm to Tony and his design and it may help also others.