MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Old Multiladder pcb c2000
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Oakley Sound Systems  
Author Old Multiladder pcb c2000
bananeurysm
I have an old multiladder pcb that I've been procrastinating on for about 8 years. (It's date-stamped june 2000)

For whatever reason my diy synth projects are back to life after a brief start and then an 8 year break.

I'm thinking about putting it into a small 5u system I'm putting together - but I can really only afford 1u of space. So I'm considering leaving off the extra inputs, and the 1v/oct knob - leaving me with the following: (excuse the lazy excuse for layout below)

freq knob

res knob

cv depth knob

in 1v/oct

cv res

rung1 rung2

rung3 rung4

Considering that this 24 space system will only have a single mixer - would it make more sense for me to just cut my losses and spring for a new superladder pcb? Bear in mind - the system will already have a dotcom multimode filter - so my main interest is a powerful ladder LP filter. That being said I want to squeeze as much functionality as I can into as little space as possible.

Thoughts?

PS - while I'm asking about old stuff.. anyone know where to track down replacement pots for old Oakley pcbs in the US? I'm not really sure what other parts will fit.. I have a handful of old omeg pots I got back in the day - but I expect I'll be missing some after 8 years of moving around with this stuff. </end epic post>
Synthbuilder
bananeurysm wrote:
I can really only afford 1u of space. So I'm considering leaving off the extra inputs, and the 1v/oct knob

This sounds like the filter core idea I use on most of the new VCF modules. It certainly suits some people - including me.