MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index
 FAQ & Terms of UseFAQ & Terms Of Use   Wiggler RadioMW Radio   Muff Wiggler TwitterTwitter   Support the site @ PatreonPatreon 
 SearchSearch   RegisterSign up   Log inLog in 
WIGGLING 'LITE' IN GUEST MODE

Simple passive crossfader/ balance circuit?
MUFF WIGGLER Forum Index -> Music Tech DIY Goto page 1, 2  Next [all]
Author Simple passive crossfader/ balance circuit?
Navs
I'd like to blend two sources passively, using a single pot as control.

Is it as simple as attaching the tips of both sources to the outer lugs of a pot and then tapping the centre lug?

I'm not concerned with the accuracy of the balance or that there might be slight signal loss - I'd just like something one step more sophisticated than a switch that isn't going to cause interference at source or destination.

Thanks!
sicpaul
I am no electronic expert, but i think it is not as simple as wiring a single pot beween two signals.

If you want to have it passive and simple i think you'll have to take a stereo pot (9mm 2x 100k lin, 1,70€ at reichelt). Solder one pots left lug to ground and the right lug of the other pot. To the other left / right lug you connect the outputs you want to crossfade between. The wipers can be connected to get the crossfade result.
gde
Navs wrote:

Is it as simple as attaching the tips of both sources to the outer lugs of a pot and then tapping the centre lug?

That will work. You'll see that used for the skew function on Thomas Henry's xr vco and also in some filters to switch between lp to notch to hp. I also assume the synthwerks slider modules do the same.
roglok
The external inputs on the Oberheim SEM VCF are passively mixed via a pot too:
http://www.synthfool.com/docs/Oberheim/Oberheim_SEM1A/Oberheim_SEM_1A_ Schematics.pdf

I'm not sure what the real life downside is compared to an op-amp mixer...
daverj