Boss DS-1 Owners?

A place for the string slingers, pedal freaks and amp snobs in our midst.

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord, sduck

Post Reply
User avatar
tragedybysyntax
Banned until Restitution Made
Posts: 2913
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:39 am

Boss DS-1 Owners?

Post by tragedybysyntax » Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:13 am

Could someone PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE take a picture of the inside of the ds-1 if you have it? Or atleast tell me what pin #'s the wires the input and output jack are utilizing? For some damn reason I think I have mine hooked up wrong after doing a mod. Thank you SOOOOOOO much in advance! :)
Image
- [ Custom Metalwork ] -

User avatar
Kent
Large Member
Posts: 11610
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by Kent » Tue Nov 10, 2009 3:46 am

Dude! Now you've learned the golden rule of digital photography and electronics. Snap a shot of the guts before you start ripping shit apart! Has saved my ass hundreds of times.

User avatar
tragedybysyntax
Banned until Restitution Made
Posts: 2913
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:39 am

Post by tragedybysyntax » Tue Nov 10, 2009 9:46 am

I know but... it still doesnt help me now, lol
Image
- [ Custom Metalwork ] -

User avatar
synthetic
TASCAM Hero!
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA
Contact:

Post by synthetic » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:27 pm

Go to the Premier Guitar website. They have a great article all about modding the DS-1. Schematics, everything, I'm sure there are pics. I did mine and it sounds 100% better. Went from unusable buzz to killer distortion.

User avatar
synthetic
TASCAM Hero!
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA
Contact:

Post by synthetic » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:52 pm

No inside pic, but schematics at least.

http://www.premierguitar.com/Magazine/I ... _Mods.aspx

User avatar
tragedybysyntax
Banned until Restitution Made
Posts: 2913
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:39 am

Post by tragedybysyntax » Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:33 pm

that doesnt tell me which pinouts are going to the battery, input, output... FUCK. The only other decent schematic i've found is for the wrong version. Guess I have to go to sam ash... buy a new one... open it up... see wtf i did wrong, seal i up... take it back tomorrow. LOL.
Image
- [ Custom Metalwork ] -

User avatar
BugBrand
Knowledge of Bugs
Posts: 7083
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:59 am

Post by BugBrand » Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:50 pm

Surely you can just use deduction to figure it out from the schematic?

Input will go to a resistor
Output will come from a cap & resistor junction
etc

User avatar
haiku-ish
gigwilling with dilsexy
Posts: 757
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: finisterre

Post by haiku-ish » Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:31 pm


User avatar
tragedybysyntax
Banned until Restitution Made
Posts: 2913
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:39 am

Post by tragedybysyntax » Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:39 pm

yeah that schematic is for the older version of mine. Tom thanks for making me actually learn how to read a pcb!!! LOL. I traced everything back and there is only one wire that's actually ground... i'll figure where it goes tonight. Now I just have to figure out on those i/o jacks which is t/r/s/ Thanks guys! :)
Image
- [ Custom Metalwork ] -

User avatar
synthetic
TASCAM Hero!
Posts: 979
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA
Contact:

Post by synthetic » Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:28 pm

Tip is positive, sleeve is negative. Shouldn't be a ring on that jack. There's usually a clue if you look at the jack. If not, use your multimeter to check with a cable plugged in.

User avatar
tragedybysyntax
Banned until Restitution Made
Posts: 2913
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:39 am

Post by tragedybysyntax » Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:37 pm

thanks!!
Image
- [ Custom Metalwork ] -

User avatar
tragedybysyntax
Banned until Restitution Made
Posts: 2913
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 11:39 am

Post by tragedybysyntax » Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:12 am

funny thing... i went and bought a ds-1 to see what I had wrong.... I had it all wired right to the schematic. took it out of the metal box... stopped working. GROUND PROBLEM! I had to have it properly grounded so... it works now! I'll post pics and samples of my friends finished circuit bent ds-1 in a few days. :)
Image
- [ Custom Metalwork ] -

Post Reply

Return to “Guitars, Basses, Amps & FX”